Landslide – the story of our lives…….

My dad was a house flipper way before there was HGTV, or even remote controls!!  Bless my mom because she was the manual labor in their relationship, and she always fixed up the houses.  One time Mom had to stay in the hospital for 2 nights so dad put a sign in the yard and sold the house.  She was mad for several years!

When we were kids, it was tough moving 1 or 2x per year because we were always changing schools.  Now I understand that they moved around because that is how they made money and a house was an asset, not a home.  I can’t imagine how tough it was to make a living in the 1970’s when folks talk about 15% interest rates on home loans.

As adults, both my brother and I and our families have each owned a total of 3 homes.  Our houses aren’t investments but homes for us to raise our families, relax & laugh with friends or just a place that we can find peace from the world outside.

When propane hit $5 per gallon, Rich and I decided it was time to insulate the walls of our 1910 home.  As we looked around the house we saw a lifetime of memories.  In the kitchen, we have that dang 1970’s obnoxious orange sink that Lucie and Dean would always clean their fish in.  Around the island, my classmates have celebrated numerous reunions and Sherm Benson even did tequila shots at our 5 year reunion.  There are a lot of folks with pictures of their kids on our couch!  Whether it was Girl Scouts, Birthday Parties, Prom, Halloween, Lucie’s Memorial or Lexie’s graduation,  it really made me sad to think we were ripping out the walls that housed the laughter and tears of those treasured times.

DSCN6594

DSCN6590

 

 

 

 

 

AND then that Stevie Nicks song Landslide came on the radio and I seriously started to cry because it is the story of our lives.

Well, I’ve been afraid of changing
‘Cause I’ve built my life around you
But time makes you bolder
Even children get older
And I’m getting older too
Oh I’m getting older too

We have definitely over improved the house and I know that we will never get our money out of it.  Luckily this is our home and not one of our investments so we take a deep breath and think about the future memories and celebrations that we will have in our “new” home.

If you’re in the neighborhood, stop by and take a peak!

 

Leave a Reply

